Cross Country Series

Club Officials Harrier Section Cycling Section

Please go to our new web pages at to keep up to date with the Cross Country Series



Have a look at Ben Winder's Run Wairarapa page at runwairarapa

ACM and Trusthouse Cross Country Series.

The 2014 Cross Country Series will be held on :

Sunday 6th April

Taratahi's Mangarata Farm, Whangaehu

6 km

Sunday 13th April

ACM Clubrooms

6 km

Sunday 27th April

Massey's Riverside Farm, Mikimiki

6 km

Sunday 11th May

Kamahi Farm, Rangitumau

6 km

Sunday 25th May

  Elmley Farm, Taueru 

6 km

Sunday 8th June

Pakaraka Farm, Pakaraka

6 km

Sunday 22nd June

Longridge Farm, Wainuioru

6 km

Sunday 6th July

Solway Show Grounds (includes Talbot Memorial trophies ) 

6 km

Sunday 27th July

Club cross-country championships (Whangaehu) & series prize giving (sports bowl) 

6-9 km

Click on the event to see the course start location. 
Courses shown are indicative only - Courses change at the whim of the course setters

Distance by grade

A,B,C,D & E




6 km

(E Grade 4km in Race 1)

4 km

2 km

1 km

Start Times



E grade Walkers

D grade

C grade

B grade

A grade & Juniors


Race 1 (6th April)








All other races








Club cross-country championships - All runners start together at 10.00am

Click here - for a downloadable version of the 2014 Cross Country  Flyer
Click here for the 2014 Cross Country Results on the new web page

Cross Country Series Results

Race Conditions

1.      Race 1 (6th April) will be a grading race and the handicap will be based on previous times. You will be placed in a grade depending on your ability and if you have been placed in the wrong grade, you will be re-graded that day. 

2.      There will be four senior running grades (A-D), one walking grade (E) and three grades for children (J, I & M).  

-   Junior (J) Grade is for competitors 16 years and under on the day of the first race. Junior runners can elect to run in the senior grade.

-   Intermediate (I) Grade is for competitors 13 years and under on the day of the first race. Intermediate runners can elect to run in the Junior grade.

-   Midget (M) Grade is for competitors 10 years and under on the day of the first race. Midget runners can elect to run in the Intermediate grade.

3.      We will attempt to provide even numbers in each grade and keep people in the same grade throughout the series. The handicappers reserve the right to re-grade any individual at any time

4.      All competitors must begin each race in their own grade and at the correct time.  Your time will only ever be recorded against your allocated grade start time.

5.      Points will be awarded on a scale of 20 for the winner, 19 for second, 18 for third, etc.  In addition, two points will be awarded for each person entering and completing each race.

6.      On race day, spot prizes will be drawn at random from all finishers and helpers.  These will be announced along with the results.  Winners must be present otherwise prizes will be redrawn.

Prize giving: The series will finish on the 6th July 2014, but the prize giving will be held after the cross-country champs on 27th July. 

-   Prizes and certificates will be awarded to the first four places in each grade, depending on numbers.  In the event of a draw in any grade, the winner between the two (ie first across the line) at the last race both competed in will be awarded the higher placing. 

-   6 of the 8 races ONLY will count towards final handicap points.  Each competitor’s lowest scores during the series will be dropped.

-   Competitors who complete all 9 races of the series will receive a bonus prize.

-   Points for the Trust House series will not be awarded at the Club cross-country championships (race 9). All participants are urged to attend the club championships, but only financial club members are eligible for club trophies.

Results: will be available at  If possible, they’ll be published in the Wairarapa Times-Age.  Competitors must advise a convenor of any errors prior to the next race.

Cost: The series is free for ACM Club members. There is a $5.00 entry fee per race for adult non-members and $3.00 per race for Junior, Intermediate and Midget non-members.

Responsibility: By entering this series of races competitors agree that, they assume responsibility for their own actions and their children’s/dependants actions during these events and while on location. Competitors agree to follow the course instructions provided, to conduct themselves in a manner to prevent injury or harm to themselves and others, also not to bring Athletics & Cycling Masterton or Trust House into disrepute or anything that could jeopardize future events.

Be prepared: for wet or cold weather conditions. Cross country events will never be cancelled.

Morning tea: will be provided after each race. The grades on tea duties will be responsible for providing a plate, making the tea and cleaning up on that day.  Please take note of your grade’s turn in the roster below.

Course removal: A & B grades will be responsible for picking up the course as per the roster.

Grade roster for morning tea & course pick-up



Tea Duty

Course Removal

6th April





ACM Clubrooms

E, J & I


27th April




11th May




25th May


E, J & I


18th  June




22nd June




6th July


E, J & I


27th July

Club champs



Any enquiries contact:

 Malcolm MacDonald (06 3771174 / 021 634222) or Derek Cox (021 330393)

(PLEASE don’t ring after 8:00 pm)